Here's to you… SRQ

The Sarasota Chalk Festival

 

 

It will be here before you know it.

artwork used in the poster is from the 2011 festival by:  Eduardo Relero

Each Friday the volunteers get together to get to know each other and discuss whatever needs discussing.  This particular Friday I find myself with no desire to go out in traffic again.  So as 5:00 rolled around, I pushed myself away from the computer and walked to the kitchen.  No bolt of lightning, no get-up-and-go.  I got some coffee and sat back down to check my email.   After ignoring most of the messages and dumping my spam I was still wrestling with the commitment I have made to support the festival and my lack of motivation.  I finally pushed through the funk and headed to the gathering.

I think when you push through an obstacle (no matter how small) you just feel better about yourself, and I did.  I walked away feeling more excitement about the upcoming event (if that is possible)!  I also walked away feeling proud that I am able to play a small part in this thing.

What has me excited?  Except for those who suffer from Coulrophobia, who doesn’t get excited when the circus comes to  town? 

As this years festival (Circus City, USA)takes shape, life-size elephants are being sculpted and inspired by artist Mark Jenkins, we are getting together tomorrow to wrap ourselves in packing tape.  The best local and international artists will be here along with Kurt Wenner who will be working on a premier piece of artwork for this years festival. 

As  Denise explained her reason why she wants to keep the festival free, I am happy to be a part of the volunteer staff.   Knowing there are many people who may never be able to view artwork at this level if there were a fee attached, she doesn’t want to ask an entry fee.  This way the art is seen and appreciated by all.  It doesn’t matter if you have $100,000 in the bank or $1 in your wallet.  The festival is for the entire community.

Not only is it free to attend, it’s free to participate.   Travel, lodging, food, supplies.  It’s covered.

This is the Sarasota Chalk Festivals 5th year.  Still in its infancy really but the success of the earlier years speaks volumes.  The Sarasota Chalk Festival has become an international event.  But it wont happen without support.  The festival needs volunteers, sponsors and donations.

Yes, I walked out of last nights meeting feeling pretty good.  I even took some tickets for the fundraiser to sell and I am not a salesperson.

Leave a comment