Here's to you… SRQ

Cemeterror 2012

 

Meet the Director and Creator of Cemeterror 2012

Donald Spera and his Mom, Carol

 

My Introduction to a yard-haunt…

I was recently introduced to Valerie via the Sarasota Chalk Festival and she asked if I would consider photographing an event.  She told me this particular attraction is set up and manned by a group of volunteers and some of the proceeds go to the JDRF.  It has been many years since I have participated in anything Halloween… other than remembering to turn off any lights that might welcome a stray trick-or-treater to my door, so I thought it might be something different and possibly fun.  My main reason for agreeing is I’m a push-over for a cause and it’s my small way of giving back to the community.

A few days before my appointment, armed with little information about Cemeterror (other than an address)  I Google mapped it.  A house popped up on the screen.  I did the 360 degree spin to see if there was more.  Nope.  A house.  No warehouse, no dark scary barn.  Visions of neighborhood kids draped in bed sheets who popped out from behind the bushes and trees yelling boo started to fill my mind.   

It was still daylight when I arrived and a handful of people were milling about.  I approached a man seated outside the front door.  He was quietly rocking back and forth, puffing on a cigarette.  I introduced myself to Donald Spera, homeowner and ringmaster of Cemeterror.  Donald impressed me as not one  for small talk so I decided to explore.

Backstage…

Inside the house, my eyes adjusted to find a room full of actors in various stages of make up and costuming.  The place was buzzing with activity.  I spotted Valerie at the make-up table where she and Priscilla were applying scabs, scars and any other sort of prosthesis to make one horrid.  The table they worked from held all kinds of goo, glue, paints, and brush imaginable.  The walls behind them were a patchwork of still images representing the completed characters.   As I watched Carla spray painting an actors face, my opinion of a neighborhood yard haunt started to change.  I’m in no way an expert on theatrical make-up but as I watched this capable crew dab and paste and as I scanned the actors who had already made their visit to the make up chair, I could have easily watched them work their magic all night. 

I pried myself away and entered a room with racks full of wonderful costumes.   I imagined being a kid again and what fun it would be to have access to such a room.  Who shall I be today?  The appeal of Halloween I had lost as an adult was beginning to return.   

I began my search for a willing subject to photograph.  I spotted “Sharon Needles” who was in full costume and asked if she would go with me for some pictures.  Sharon had a look that would make Nurse Ratched look like one of those sweet little volunteers running around in candy stripes .  We headed into the haunted pathways of Cemeterror with  all its props and special effects Ted and the team had set up.   It didn’t take long before many others from the cast joined in, ready to pose.     

After an all too short photo session I went outside to find the sun had retired, giving way to an oh so perfect evening for a yard haunt.  The night air was cool with a light breeze making the assorted stage lighting dance and twinkle.  The moon was just about as abundant as the excitement and anticipation on the faces of those that were starting to fill the yard.  I watched as more and more eerie silhouettes were making their way down the darkened street towards Cemeterror 2012 bringing with them a sense of community that seems to me, all too often forgotten.

Waiting for entry to the attraction was an experience in itself.  Madame Zelda’s sideshow included the troupe from the South Florida Belly dancers .  Bethsheba, Fina, Nizana and Karen were shimmying and shaking while Misha and Firefly (Spiral Enterprises) energized the crowd with their fire dance.  Dolly Dearest, Ghoul Ghoul Girl, Medusa, Demental , and  all rounded out the side-show. 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Yes, my preconceived idea of this yard haunt was totally wrong.  As I was taking pictures, I heard squeals from those that were inside and I watched as the line at the entrance fill with people of every age and description, I was transported back to my childhood.  To the place that loves mystery and the unknown.  Wondering what is waiting around the next darkened corner ready to throw a playful scare into you.  

If you missed 2012, make a point to mark you calendar for 2013.  You wont be disappointed.  You may even decide to become a part of Cemeterror.   

Thank you Don and to the cast and crew of volunteers.  You were a pleasure to meet and a pleasure to photograph.

Your Guides…

  • Mort U Ary… Mark  
  • Morgue N… Toby
  • Wood E Coffin… Victor

The Cast:

  • Zelda… Dragonfly                                                                
  • Chucky… Devon                                                                    
  • M Balma… Richard
  • Sharon Needles… Mary                                                       
  • Nocturnibus… Terry                                                          
  • Rig a Mortis… Ralph
  • Jenna Side… Mya                                                                  
  • Bloodonna… Avril                                                                
  • Die Anne… Trista                                                                  
  • Hellda… Avery                                                                      
  • Gore Jess… Marc                                                                   
  • Seymore Dead Peoples… Steve
  • Killery… Carol                                                                       
  • Graven… Dom                                                                        
  • Scarecrow… Rob
  • Ima Dead One… Vanessa                                                    
  • Fool of Fortune… Gary                                                         
  • Dolly Dearest… Hillary
  • Elsa… Robin                                                                             
  • Sinister Sister… Susan                                                        
  • Bea Dead… Courtney
  • Morticia… Carolyn                                                               
  • Medusa… Amelia                                                                  
  • Demental… Olivia
  • Ghoul Ghoul Girl… Meaghan                                             
  • Lady Gruesome… Kayla

Read more on Cemeterror…

“Cemeterror mixes Halloween scares and community service”

One response

  1. ralph ( rigor mortis )

    As a volunteer of this haunt I really enjoyed entertaining the visitors in line. Me being a part-time actor on stage and in
    movies gives me lots of ideas of how to protray the character
    I am playing for the night. I will always be out there somewhere
    in the crowd waiting for my next visitor to scare and give them
    a night to remember. Playing Rigor Mortis was really fun for me
    and not hard to bring alive with my robotic moves and statue poses.
    Really got people wondering how I am able to do it so well. Lots
    of photos were taken since my statue skills made for interesting
    shots to capture. Hope to see you there next year along with many new faces.

    November 25, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Leave a comment